WasteCap Nebraska presented the 2014 Sustainable Business Awards winners during their annual Sustainability Summit held October 28 & 29 at Embassy Suites.  Six Nebraska businesses received awards for their innovative “triple bottom line” initiatives, along with five honorable mentions.  Major sponsors of this event were ConAgra Foods, Cleaner Greener Lincoln, University of Nebraska IANR and Nebraska Wesleyan University.

WasteCap Nebraska congratulates the following 2014 Sustainable Business Award recipients for their accomplishments:

The Green Team of the Year Award was presented to LiveGreen, Nebraska Medicine and the University of Nebraska Medical Center.

The Service Provider of the Year Award was presented to Verdis Group.

The Sustainable Business of the Year Award was presented to Becton Dickenson & Company.

The Commonwealth Award was presented to Arbor Day Foundation.

The Zero Waste Award was presented to Goodwill Industries Serving Southeast Nebraska, Inc.

The Member of the Year Award was presented to Prairieland Dairy.

Central Community College, Frito Lay, Kaplan University, Sadoff Iron & Metal and Union Pacific Railroad all received honorable mentions.  For more information about WasteCap Nebraska programs and events, visit www.wastecapne.org.