Goodwill Omaha’s Board Welcomes New Chair and Trustees

Goodwill Industries, Inc., Serving Eastern Nebraska and Southwest Iowa (Goodwill Omaha, has announced changes to its board of trustees for 2022. Last November, the board elected trustee Doug Anderson to become the next chair, and Anderson’s term began on January 1. He is the commercial market manager at Great Southern Bank and joined Goodwill’s board in 2019.

In December, Mark Stokes, a longtime trustee of Goodwill Omaha, departed the board after nine years of service. Stokes was the board chair in 2017, during which he provided consistent leadership and stability in the restructuring of the organization and efforts to reinforce the agency’s foundation. Goodwill Omaha honored Stokes at its Celebrate Good Gala in November, where Mathouser presented him with a gift.

Jim Rich, Goodwill Omaha’s board chair in 2020 and 2021, served two terms as chair and led the organization through the height of the COVID-19 crisis. Mathouser and Goodwill Omaha also honored Rich at the Celebrate Good Gala for his leadership during the pandemic. Rich remains on the board in the role of chair emeritus and, on January 1, he became a member of Goodwill Omaha’s investment committee.

Last September, the board welcomed a new trustee, Aaron Johnson, a partner at Baird Holm LLP. Johnson is also chair of the firm’s Corporate Section. He primarily practices in the areas of commercial lending, real estate, and corporate finance. Johnson is a graduate of Leadership Omaha and currently serves on the Police Athletics for Community Engagement (P.A.C.E.) Board of Directors.

At the January 25 board of trustees meeting, board members confirmed and welcomed Juan Padilla as the newest trustee of the organization. Padilla is the community development manager at Canopy South, a nonprofit helping to revitalize neighborhoods in south Omaha. Prior to that, Padilla worked at Omaha Community Foundation.

This month, the Goodwill Omaha Board of Trustees will elect members for the roles of vice chair and secretary. For more information, visit